To start things off, we need to make this very clear. Firetrust Limited, producers of awesome software MailWasher, do not and have never owned these domain names.
www.firetrust.net.cn
www.firetrust.org.cn
Nope! Those aren’t ours, we *do* own others like www.firetrust.com, www.firetrust.org and many more, but not those two ending in “.cn”
And to be fair, figuring out on exactly which website names to purchase can be expensive. You need to draw a line as to how far you’ll go, otherwise you could end up with hundreds of different variations. Chinese customers aren’t in our scope, therefore why own the Chinese variation of a Firetrust website.
Someone however has recently registered these domain names, and the irony is that the company (or person) who registered these website names, is using them in scammy emails. The same kind of scammy emails we posted about in the Blog on 10th March 2008.
http://www.firetrust.com/en/blog/chris/domain-name-scams
The email looks something like this. Keep in mind when you read this email, that it’s a scam. There is no such company in China trying to register any website here, it’s a scare tactic, used to likely drum up business.
Dear <company name>,
Having had your name and address from China Council for the Promotion of International Trade,we now avail ourselves of this opportunity to write to you and have something important need to confirm with your company.
We are registration service center authorized by CHINAGOV (THE DEVELOPMENT CENTER OF THE STATE COMMISSION OFFICE FOR PUBLIC SECTOR REFORM) in China.We received a formal application from a company(According to The China Law & Privacy Policy,Hidden The Real Name) is applying to register " <company name> " as their domain names and internet brand in China and also in Asia on June 10,2008. Considering domains and internet brand would involve the intellectual property of your company’s name,patents,trademarks,and copyright, and in order to avoid confusion between them, so we inform you urgently.
At present, many domain name registries or domain name investment companies in China and even the world register domains and internet brand,and then sell them to the owner of trademark at high prices to make huge profit. Therefore, we remind you particularly that if you considered these domain names and internet brand are very important to you and there is necessary to protect them by registering them first, please let someone who is responsible for trademark or domain name contact me as soon as possible,according to the register principle, the original owner of the trademark has the priority to register.Thank you for you cooperation.
Looking forward to your prompt reply,
Kind Regards,
Dr. Jason Wang
Chief Law Officer,Senior Consulting Director
Internet Brand Justice & Safety Dept.
FireTrust Technology Ltd.
Address: Unit2-602,Building4,Third Qianjiang Community,Hangzhou, China
Tel: +86-571-28927205 ext.805(Mon–Fri,9am to 6:30pm,GMT+8) Fax: +86-571-28926277
Email: Jason.Wang@FireTrust.net.cn Web: www.FireTrust.net.cn www.FireTrust.org.cn
Given there is no such company that I know of legally registered in China called “Firetrust Technology Ltd”, this would seem to be a very bad attempt by the scammers to cause some negative feedback against Firetrust, after all we are naming and shaming them in the blog.
However I have to respect their choice of Departmental names “Internet Brand Justice & Safety Dept.” is one of the coolest Department names I’ve heard inside an internet based business. Sounds like something out of a Marvel Comic book.
We aren’t without our own super powers though, we did some sleuthing ourselves and found some official pictures of Jason Wang, who works in the “Internet Brand Justice & Safety Dept”
We believe though he may be taking his job too seriously, it’s not yet clear which individual is pictured to his right.
Jason Wang
In the interests of healthy competition I too now work in a department called “Internet Brand Justice” and I too have a costume. This is me on my way to work, toot your horn if you see me.
Me on my way to work
Warmest regards
Chris
Internet Brand Justice
Firetrust Limited
LOL nice one Chris :o)